Reyhaneh: Iran’s Mockingjay

Standard

Islamic Rape Laws Couldn’t Save Reyhaneh Jabbari. Wait.Why?

Reyhaneh

Femen activists being dragged away by policemen

Femen activists being dragged away by policemen

Femen protesters against the execution of Reyhaneh

Femen protesters against the execution of Reyhaneh

*Feminism is the radical notion that women are people.

The Human Lens

Dear Sholeh, don’t cry for what you are hearing, before my death I want something from you, that you have to provide for me with all your might and in any way that you can. In fact this is the only thing I want from this world, this country and you. Please don’t cry and listen. I want you to go to the court and tell them my request. My kind mother,  the one more dear to me than my life, I don’t want to rot under the soil. Beg so that it is arranged that as soon as I am hanged my heart, kidney, eye, bones and anything that can be transplanted be taken away from my body and given to someone who needs them as a gift. I don’t want the recipient know my name, buy me a bouquet, or even pray for me. I am telling you from the…

View original post 972 more words

3 thoughts on “Reyhaneh: Iran’s Mockingjay

  1. A writer from the East

    Femen and most of the western world has no real notion of Islamic and Sharia Laws on Rape issue, with stunts like these we see the evidence of the arrogance and ignorance of colonial mindsets who target religions, in particular Islam. Disrespecting other peoples religions is not feminism and I don’t support this sort of feminism at any rate.
    My post is extremmly clear on stating the facts that in case of our departed sister Reyhaneh Jabbari, her country did not make use of the Islamic Rape Laws as they were not applied to her incident. Patriarchal societies using religion to supress women is nothing new, but FEMEN and their supporters blame game that Islam is Evil is downright appalling and insulting. My FEMEN summaries are available on the blog and you may see why most Muslim feminists are not supportive of their format of feminism solidarity.

    Like

    • Thank you again, for that enlightenment. See every day and every interaction is an opportunity to learn more about something new.
      I agree that FEMEN does have a negative portrayal of Islamic law ( with which I am desperately trying to acquaint myself). I do respect their boldness in the face of horrific authority.
      I feel that when one is as passionate about a cause as we are, it is best that they are willing to learn about it first rather than “prescribing before diagnosis”. I think they are well-meaning but just need the right direction and information.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A writer from the East

    I like how you have said that FEMEN has done what so many other mainstream feminist groups do, by “prescribing before diagnosis”.
    It is also rediculous that they while working in Europe, did not manage to establish contact or collbaoration with the thousands of muslim feminists, and some 30-40 Muslim women rights organization working in Europe.
    It was very easy to say that Muslim women are slaves and continue to feed the rtheroic that Islam is evil and so we need to save Muslim women. They have been down right insulting, racist and ignorant and probably none of the Muslim women were at all pleased with this sort of help. Because that’s not help at all, FEMEN did what they did, because EUROPE loves anything that is anti-Muslim, anti-migrants and anti-eastern integration of their continent. It was step forwarding of the burka ban obsession that european union seems to be suffering from 😉
    Yes, learning is always the best way to equip ourselves and fueling our passion towards meaningful and impact resulting consequences.

    Like

Leave a Reply

